Sponsored by:

A/C recharge advice for W210 E55

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-01-2015, 04:19 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
'13 C63 AMG Coupe, '01 W210 E55 AMG
A/C recharge advice for W210 E55

I need an experienced person to give me some advice. I have some experience on this a.c system based on digesting as much info on the internet as I dared about the W210 a.c system. In my past life I rebuilt 911 engines, but no experience with a/c. Why don't I bite the bullet and take it to the dealer? Well, that means I wouldn't gain the experience and have the fun and satisfaction, AND the real reason...
most mechanics are incompetent (and destructive) just replacing thing$ until the problem goes away. I do know my limitations and my philosophy is to do no harm.

Most information I encountered is either bad, misleading, or mostly clueless. It seems most people can't even find the high pressure port. I found some poor fools recharging through the high pressure side. So as a last resort to get up to speed I RTFM (read the f'ing manual).

I've run a diagnosis using the climate control buttons. It shows low refrigerant, 3 bars. The only FAULT that is picked up is B1419 electromagnetic clutch. This is expected because of low refrigerant and so the clutch will not engage the compressor. By the way my econo button does NOT light as expected for low 134a pressure. It will light when I put it in econo mode.

One interesting thing is that the high pressure port's schrader valve leaks pressure. I noticed this when I removed the cap. The cap is a backup seal and may seal the system even though the valve leaks. Not a problem that I'm going to deal with now.

My system was nearly empty of refrigerant, not good, but the car is 15 years old so probably normal behavior.

I used manifold gauges with a vacuum pump to attempt to fully recharge my a/c system. This process is simple and straight-forward enough. It is not rocket science.