Sponsored by:

Most Potential for Tuning: E55 or E63

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2006, 04:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E63
Most Potential for Tuning: E55 or E63

It seems to me that the E63, having 500+ naturally aspirated HP has the most potential for upgrading and tuning. However, since I am a novice in E class AMGs I may be off the mark. What is the opinion of you knowledgable guys?
Old 08-20-2006, 04:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

C63
Actually a Kompressor engine is much easier to mod than a N/A engine.
Old 08-20-2006, 04:13 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
2003 E55 & 2014 GL550
Unless Benz was being conservative with the numbers, the E63 7 Speed tranny is already near it's limit on what it can handle leaving you near 0 room for modding.

Being a little lazy so I am trying to remember without doing a search, but it's something like 50-60ft lbs of torque away from what Benz says is it's max. I know once you bang over that, she goes limp and the error lights flash like fireworks. V12 guys have got it a few times at the track. Car just seems to go into neutral and you gotta stop and restart etc....

On the other hand, my car has been brought from 476hp to near 600 with tranny as solid as a rock. More mods coming soon to push it over 650hp.

Honestly, it's just a matter of time before AMG works over the 7 Speed and she is more solid, but for now it's pretty much at the limit.

Benz could also be shooting that number out as well to neatly PREVENT us from modding too. Once Kleemann and Renn get in there and look at it, we'll all know what the real story is, but for now, tranny is the weak link on the E63.
Old 08-20-2006, 04:16 PM

Received 32 Likes on 24 Posts
The E63 is going to be very difficult to tune due to the high compression ratio and complexity of the new engine. If you're looking for a car that you can modify, stick with the E55.
Old 08-20-2006, 05:21 PM

E63