Sponsored by:

Warm Up?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-05-2007, 10:45 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2005 E55
Warm Up?

How long do you drive it before you really get on it?

The temp guage is a coolant temp, which doesn't necessarily mean the oil is warm too, so what do you guys do?

Or do you not worry about it at all?
Old 04-05-2007, 10:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2012 JDM
I am by no means an expert on this topic but I can tell you what I do. I typically wait for the coolant temperature to rise. I know where the gauge is when it is up to full operating temperature, so I usually wait for the gauge to be within 3 bars of that temperature or so. I usually baby it for the first few minutes, then maybe give it a gas a few times up to 3500rpm or so, then once its up to within 3 bars of normal operating temperature i get on it more and so on. If the coolant temperature is up to that level, I would think the oil would be warm as well. thats what I do.
Old 04-05-2007, 11:58 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'07 Porsche 997TT
Good question - instead of putting appropriate gauges in MB's "sport oriented" cars you get a nice big clock in the cluster
Old 04-05-2007, 12:07 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

04 E55
Need to get some heat into aluminum and forged pistons before you beat on it...1/2 way up the scale is probably a good idea but I personally wait until it gets to normal...which is probably longer than I need to.
Old 04-05-2007, 03:11 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

BMW E39
Just to be safe, always wait til normal operating temperature for the coolant. That's about 90C for me.
Old 04-05-2007, 03:22 PM

E63
I don't have any technical knowledge on this topic, but on the Z06 forum members watched oil temp, not coolant temp.

The suggestion was to wait until you hit @145 F before really getting into it.