W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dot 4 Plus; Bleeding brakes w/o SBC

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 04-14-2009, 12:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 Nissan 370z Sport; 2005 AMG E55; 2005 Subaru Legacy GT LMT; 2004 Honda Element EX
Dot 4 Plus; Bleeding brakes w/o SBC

Ok,..

This is my first time doing maintanance work on my 05 W211 as I put in new EBC Red Pads in and I need to bleed the brakes..Ive done my Suby's Brembos many times, so pad swap was a breeze for the E55.

I searched the threads and didnt come up with an answer as I finally went to the dealership and dropped $53 on 2 bottles of Brake fluid..yes,..$53 bucks... Also, having more electronics I have more questions...

From what I was told at the parts desk, I could use any Dot 4, but Im assuming MB Fluid is in my resevoir now, and not sure if I can mix any DOT 4 fluid in as I dont know exactly what chemical compounds are in the MB Dot 4 Plus. I would like to flush and refill with my Motul RBF 600 or other, but I dont know if MB requires it necessary to have MB Dot 4 Plus to work with the braking system. And, the MB fluid has a boiling pt of only 356 Degrees. So my question is, has anyone mixed brake fluids or OTHER than MB Brake fluid?

2nd question is, I gotta bleed my brakes. After disconnecting the SBC, can I turn the key to the ON position to begin bleeding the brakes so there is power to assist (so the pedal can move more freely to the floor while bleeding)??? Or do you bleed the brakes without the key in the ON position as that might mess up the SBC or throw a heck of a lot of error codes on the dash?

Sorry for my questions, but I havent found any answer in any of the threads Ive read so far.. Thanks for any help!!
Old 04-14-2009, 01:35 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
06 CLS55 w/ P030, 05 Jag S Type R, 05 TBird-68 Dodge Charger R/T-440 w/4speed I'm original owner