W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Staging deep or shallow?

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 10-22-2009, 10:47 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2006 E55 AMG
Staging deep or shallow?

Hey guys, this might seem lame but I often here about people talking about staging deep or shallow and instead of guessing what the benefits are I though I would ask. I assume staging shallow would allow for higher trap speeds and deep staging would be for better ET's. I'm a totally rookie when it comes to drag racing and I'm still trying to learn the tricks of the sport.
Old 10-22-2009, 12:19 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 207 Likes on 157 Posts
'03 E55, Range Rover Sport Supercharged, Ducati 748R
shallow staging is for better et's and trap speeds. deep staging is for better reaction times (at least until you get very good/consistent with your launches...which is a bit more difficult with our throttle-by-wire vehicles).
Old 10-22-2009, 12:49 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
E55, GMC Suburban, F430 matchbox, Caddooo DTS
Originally Posted by chiromikey
shallow staging is for better et's and trap speeds. deep staging is for better reaction times (at least until you get very good/consistent with your launches...which is a bit more difficult with our throttle-by-wire vehicles).
That's exactly right. By staging shallow you get a head start before you break the beams.
Old 10-22-2009, 03:21 PM
PLATINUM SPONSOR

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
2003 CL55
I thought it was Deep to make boys and shallow to make girls? Y chromosomes (that make boys) swim faster but die quicker.

E63 Biturbo, UPD Cold Air induction kit, UPD performance crank pulley and UPD adjustable rear suspension with ride height adjustment.