Advice on potential purchase - '05 E55 AMG

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-23-2013, 09:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1993 300E
Advice on potential purchase - '05 E55 AMG

Hello all,

I have been considering the purchse of an E55 AMG for several months. I found a low mile car within my price range in northern NJ (I am in central VA). It's an '05, with 25k miles, Black on black. Asking price is $26k.

Carfax shows it is a 1 owner vehicle with good service records, BUT, also shows a front end collision occurred in Aug. 2009, and the car was only driven about 2k miles afterward. Other possible concerns are:

Aug. 2006
Alternator/Generator replaced

ABS pump/motor replaced

Computer(s) checked

Computer reprogrammed

Electrical system checked

June 2010
Hydraulic control unit replaced

Internal transmission repaired

Driveshaft flex disc replaced

I would like to avoid a lemon, obvisouly. Any thoughts on proceeding with a PPI? Would you recommend a dealer do the PPI or an independent shop. Price reasonable based on Carfax? Thanks in advance for your thoughts, I really value these forums!

Carfax is available for free here: http://www.thriftautosales.com/web/u...ersey/7151710/

Old 04-23-2013, 09:17 AM

Received 35 Likes on 27 Posts
W212 E63 AMG S Model
The mileage sure does make it intriguing, but I would avoid that car due to the amount of repairs it had from the accident. You can find plenty of good deals on E55s these days... maybe not with that mileage, but I feel like that mileage is hazardous for a car this old. These cars need to be driven.
Old 04-23-2013, 09:31 AM

1993 300E
but I would avoid that car due to the amount of repairs it had from the
accident.
I am not sure that the Carfax indicates what repairs were done as a result of the accident. Only thing I noted was refilling the AC refrigerant. The car was towed, so obviously there would have been some cosmetic work, I think, but difficult to confirm without a PPI, I suppose.