W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

E55 / E63 differences (Not an engine discussion)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-17-2015, 08:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BMW M6 (E63)
E55 / E63 differences (Not an engine discussion)

Hello Everyone.... Yes I'm a newb. I'm getting ready to purchase a semi-high mileage commuter as I don't want to drive my M6 everyday. I need some help from you guys regarding which W211 to buy.

This is NOT a question about the drivetrain ..... I know there are TONS of threads out there on this. I totally understand that for the most part it comes down to personal preference with the engine. I even stopped by two Benz dealers and asked them about reliability and they said both drivetrains are pretty darn good and its ..... of course ....... preference.

So the question is....... What other options / changes were made during the switch from E55 to E63. I know about the subtle appearance changes (these things are easy to see). However, what about comfort, convenience, audio, safety, etc options??

I want to make sure that if I buy a E55 I'm not gonna be upset to learn the E63 has some "very cool" feature that can't be retrofitted later on.

Here's a good example (different make). I had bought a 2010 Acura TL 6spd. You know the pretty cool one with the horrible name and ugly grille. Not crazy fast but damn reliable, handled well and most importantly .... was a 6spd!! Anyway, right after I bought it I found out they were changing the seats and Acura would be making them ventilated. Sure not a big deal but it pissed me off and I would have definitely waited the couple more months.

I want to make sure something like this doesn't happen with the E55 ...... like bluetooth audio ....I know that didn't happen til after the W211 but you get the idea. I'm having trouble searching the web for definitive options or changes other than the engine that happened during the W211 mid-cycle change.