C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Things to look for in a C32 (

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-20-2013, 12:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03' C240 '02 C32(Hopefully)
Things to look for in a C32 (

Newbie here, I'm going to look at '02 C32 with 78k miles on it today, and I just wanted to know if there is anything I should be weary of. I've been reading up on the IC pumps and such, but I don't want to get into anything major and have to go back to my C240.

If there is another thread, or this is a worthless question, please let me know.

-Bob_Dole
Old 06-20-2013, 02:09 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2003 C32 AMG
The best thing you could do is have the vehicle taken to an independent mechanic specializing in mercedes benz vehicles and have them do a pre purchase inspection. There are too many things to check.

I would check a whole bunch of things.. for example:
Warning and indicator lamps, illumination and interior lighting. The xenon system is very expensive.
Windshield wiper, windshield washer system, headlamp cleaning system.
I would also check front brake pads for lining thickness, check the tires for damage and condition. Also check for correct inflation pressure (may indicate it wasn't taken care of)
Check the engine oil level on the computer in the car.
Check the brake system, and the safety catch and hinges on the engine hood.
Check the electronics system, the battery for correct fluid level.. perform a Midtronics AVR test on the vehicle.
I would also check the seat belts for damage and proper function.
Have the seller replace the dust filter, and combination air filter.

Major things I would look for are on the underside of the vehicle.
Check for chafe marks, line routing, damaged components. Check for leakage.
Check the condition of the front axle ball joints, and rubber boots (bushings)
Check all the steering mechanical components and tie rods and bushings.