C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

HELP HELP needed TOWED MY CAR with a TOWDOLLY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-15-2008, 04:54 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
SL450
Exclamation HELP HELP needed TOWED MY CAR with a TOWDOLLY

hey guys, I got a big problem, first of all i'm not a mechanic so i didn't know this could happen!!!

i JUST moved to miami and I got my car with a TOW DOLLY with the rear wheels moving..... I had to search first but i didn't know it was going to be a problem .... its an 05c230 its automatic it was in neutral all the time, when i got here i put the car on reverse and there was no power neither in drive.... it accelerates but it doesnt do anything i just hear a lil whistle, you guys might know what could happen or what coud be wrong or WHATS WRONG? please help me!!!

Last edited by Andonixxx; 06-15-2008 at 04:55 PM. Reason: change title
Old 06-15-2008, 06:00 PM
Super Moderator

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
GMC - Miata - Trek - P-Car
From the Operator’s Manual-

“Towing restrictions for vehicles with automatic transmission:

The vehicle may be with towed with the [drive] wheels on the ground…for distances up to 30 miles and at speed not to exceed 30 MPH. To be certain to avoid the possibility of damage to the transmission, however, we recommend the drive shaft be disconnected at the rear axle drive flange for any towing beyond a short tow to a nearby garage….”

Unfortunately, it’s likely FUBAR.

Let the accounting department know so that those additional relocation expenses can be rightly deducted.
Old 06-15-2008, 07:23 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2007 ML500
All I can say is this is not going to be pretty. Just exactly how far did you tow your vehicle?
Old 06-15-2008, 08:19 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
SL450
250 miles @ a speed of 80 miles but how bad could it be????
Old 06-15-2008, 09:23 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts