C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

oil in throttle body

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-21-2009, 10:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05 c230k s, 06 gmc sierra
oil in throttle body

hi, im new to mbworld, this is a great fourm, for a first time mb owner. i been reading, and doing a lot of pre. maintiance on a 05 c230 kompressor with 55,000 miles.

i was cleaning the throttle body and there was wet oil inside of it. my question is.

should i be conceren, or is it normal? reason for me to clean the throttle body was to see if it would cure the cold start problem.

i had the car for bought month now, and onlie put bout 1,000 miles on it. i dont drive it every day and when i do drive it, i drive it pretty hard. between the leaking vacuum pump which i had already fix, and the oil inside the throttle body. the cumputer hasn't told me to add oil yet.

any answer, or ideas, to this i would appreciated it.

thanks
dinky

Last edited by dinky228; 05-21-2009 at 10:23 PM.
Old 05-22-2009, 05:22 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 794 Likes on 597 Posts
2019 G70 6MT & 2022 Ford Maverick XL
I know that the throttle body gets dirty and sticky in time, but I wasn't aware that motor oil would be in it? I'm interested to know this as well.
Old 05-22-2009, 06:34 AM
Super Moderator

Received 175 Likes on 142 Posts
late 2009 CLK 350 Coupe Elegance, '65 Jaguar S Type wires
Normal. Poor design closed circuit crankcase breather system oil catcher. You can fit an external tank like C230 Sports Coup has but not absolutely necessary. See his thread in this regard.
Old 05-22-2009, 03:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C