C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

C230K Coupe wind noise from sunroof at speed > 50mph

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-23-2009, 01:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 c230K Coupe
C230K Coupe wind noise from sunroof at speed > 50mph

I get this really loud humming noise when my sunroof is open and I drive above 50mph...
Is there any way to fix it or is it a common problem?
Old 06-23-2009, 02:35 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
03 c320 coupe
im no expert, i fixed mine 3 days ago at a local shop, but u can start here :
https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w...ars-fixes.html
Old 06-23-2009, 08:14 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
CLK350 '06
No, I think he means when the sunroof is open at a certain speed the wind comes through and causes a vibration that sounds like a humming noise... it is NOT, as far as I can ascertain, a mechanical problem but a wind problem...

or that's MY problem on my coupe.

Anyone else know what this annoyance is all about?
Old 06-23-2009, 08:16 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C230 coupe 2002
Originally Posted by California
No, I think he means when the sunroof is open at a certain speed the wind comes through and causes a vibration that sounds like a humming noise... it is NOT, as far as I can ascertain, a mechanical problem but a wind problem...

or that's MY problem on my coupe.

Anyone else know what this annoyance is all about?
Having a pano-roof on a coupe is annoying. LOL
Old 06-23-2009, 08:28 AM

CLK350 '06
Originally Posted by LinDenKid
Having a pano-roof on a coupe is annoying. LOL
Thanks for the info.

It's actually great having the glass roof, just sounds terrible when you try to drive with it open. Funny that it took someone else complaining about it for me to remember this annoys me, too.

I'm under extended warranty so guess I'll try to complain. It works great mechanically.
Old 06-23-2009, 09:19 AM
Out Of Control!!