C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

C320 Wagon 2002, Misfire at high revs.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-01-2012, 06:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C320
C320 Wagon 2002, Misfire at high revs.

C320 Wagon, 2002, 105K miles
Excuse the long post, but I know many knowledgeable folks are on this forum and I think the more info I supply the better the advice I receive. Also, folks like me trolling for clues may also be able to get something from my post. Thanks in advance
OK – I am a newbie on this forum and my issue seems to be a variant of many a misfire at high revs - posts. I am loathed to take it to the stealership for the obvious reasons of maintaining control. If I take it down there the first behind closed door gesture is a conspiring rub of the hands as they figure how to maximize their return at my expense. No thanks!! I enjoy the tranquility of working on my car as I listen to my audiobook. A therapeutic work depressurizer. Downside of course is that they may be able to quickly diagnose and figure things out. Call me a skeptic, but I don’t think so. Instead I think I would get a $1500 “quote” to make things right – yeah right mr. stealership !! Instead I have spent many hours trolling for clues, hints, help, and solutions and in the process have learned a ton as I will explain below.
To my issue: At high revs at ~ 4k and under load (generally going up a hill or accelerating) I hear what I believe is engine knock, sharp rattling or ping – then engine hesitation, surge, more hesitation, check engine, power loss. ECU disables what I believe is cylinder 1,2,3 and I need to turn the engine off then on again. Back to normal until the next time. Codes are always P3000,1,2,3 and occasionally 6. No other.
Some environmental facts
1. CEL occurs always at load (accelerating on a hill) and never stationary high idle rev >4k RPM