C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

OBD Code Surprises

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-01-2012, 04:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W203 C320
OBD Code Surprises

Hello,

Always fun buying a car from an older lady who doesn't know much about the car.

Anyways, a quick trip to auto zone and I'm left with these codes. I'd like to do all the fixes myself, and because I'm new to mercedes (coming from VW), would love to know where to the best place to order parts is.

The car:

2001 C320, Automatic, 105,000.

The codes:

P0300, P0304, P0306 (All misfire, correct?)

P0115 (Coolant Temp Sensor possibly?)

P0443 (Purge Valve clean? I have a guide written by ohlord on how to clean them. I don't hear ticking though.)

Appreciate any help. Looking forward to fixing these and the forum seems great so far.
Old 09-01-2012, 06:45 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 148 Likes on 132 Posts
'17 Jaguar XF
Before you start fixing anything clear the codes and see which ones (if any) return.
Old 09-01-2012, 07:15 PM

W203 C320
Originally Posted by mleskovar
Before you start fixing anything clear the codes and see which ones (if any) return.
Unfortunately I did and they all came back. :/ Let the fixing begin!
Old 09-01-2012, 08:26 PM
Super Moderator

Received 177 Likes on 144 Posts
late 2009 CLK 350 Coupe Elegance, '65 Jaguar S Type wires
I would clean all connectors first & look for corrosion. CRC switch cleaner or similar would be perfect for temp sensor & purge valve. Otherwise toss the purge valve. They never clean up properly. EECS (evapourative emissions control system) codes can drive you mad with little really wrong.

300 codes for misfire then donated by cylinder number e.g. 306 = cyl 6 are easily sorted by moving wires or coils & seeing if the code changes cylinder.

It is likely coil packs or leads. At the age of your vehicle I would change all plug leads then see if you have a coil pack problem.