C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Cassette Tape "stuck"

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-17-2013, 06:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 c240
Cassette Tape "stuck"

I have read multiple threads on both here AND other MB sites, and haven't found a solution(other than taking radio out)
I have a cassette tape-to-AUX that hooks into my phone so I play music. I've been using it for nearly 7 months now with no problem, and last week I put the cord into my phone and a message came up saying "Tape Stuck". Tried ejecting tape, nothing. Tried switching modes and back to tape, nothing. The past 3 days I've done many things I've seen suggestions on; pushing on the bottom part of it, prying it from the top, etc and can't get anything to make the thing pop down.

Does anybody else have suggestions, other than taking the radio and dash completely out? I am anticipating a 3 1/2 hour road trip on Saturday(my H.S. soccer team made it to state) and would love to have it fixed by then...

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-17-2013, 07:56 PM

I drive a Toyota Hybrid...
try to get a new tape adapter see if it help, if not replace your tape deck isn't hard at all. only took me 20mins to an hour with only breaking a few clips
Old 04-17-2013, 09:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
2005 C Wagon (No snickering please!)
There are two things I would try prior to taking the dash apart.

1. Remove fuse 64 (10A Red) from the fuse location under the hood on the drivers side. Allow about 5 minutes for the Radio processors to lose their mind. Then plug the fuse in and try to eject the cassette.

2. Open the cassette door and blow clean dry compressed air into the slot. There is an infrared sensor system that looks for a cassette. It might be dirty, and hopefully the air blast will move the dust bunnies.