C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

'03 C240 Transmission Problem. Lemon Law?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-21-2003, 02:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'03 C240 Transmission Problem. Lemon Law?

(please excuse me for my layman's account of my transmission problems for i am not an expert.) i recently bought an automatic c240 2003 in late 2002 to drive to UCLA ( my school) from my house. at around 5,000 miles, i was trying to get onto the 405 freeway, yes the busiest freeway in the world, and my transmission fails. i pressed on the gas and the thing would not move and reved to 5-6,000rpm. i pressed on the gas because i had to move and suddenly the car lunged forward very fast (more than it should have for the amount of pressure i was using). i was almost hit because the car kept stopping and lunging forward when trying to pull to the side. then, i shut the car off and turned the car on and everything seemed normal, so i continued to drive, but not on the freeway. about a mile or two later, the same problem happens, so i had the car towed. the tow truck took 3 hours to arrive (mercedes roadside assistance didn't get a towman that was closest to me or even had me towed to the closest mercedes location, which i found odd) because of traffic and i, a 21 year old female was stranded in LA at night...very scary. the car was in the shop for around two week and was diagnosed with a bad trasmission computer. apparently, it had bad "codes." so, after getting it back, i was able to drive back home normally. i took the car out a little later and the same problem occured; when i went to make a turn, the car would not accelerate when putting my foot on to the gas, so i bought it back to mercedes benz. this time, they said that the problem was the main computer that acted as a sort of node giving secondary computers "bad codes." so, presumably, they fixed that. now, at 17,000ish miles, my car did the