C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Another Random Misfire Question...stummped.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-15-2014, 09:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 C230
Another Random Misfire Question...stummped.

Hello all...I am new to MB and to this forum and have a question hopefully some knowledgeable person can help me with. A little history; 2006 c230 146xxx. I bought the car knowing that it had a random miss; drove it almost a month before there was any sign any trouble. DTC codes; 0030, 0300, 0304, 0306. It has all new OEM plugs, new MB coils on 4 and 6. Clear the codes and it's the same.

Now here is the strange thing (at least to me)...The first couple minutes upon startup it doesn't miss AT ALL. It drives and accelerates perfectly. As soon as it goes into closed loop, it runs like complete crap. You can cycle the key on/off, it runs fine for 30 seconds or so then its back to crap.

Here is what I have checked:
1. The grounds under the hood are tight and free of corrosion and look good to me.
2. I believe the Ign Coils are internally grounded to the head. Those grounds t30 bolts are tight and look good.
3. Replaced coils and plugs; reset codes and this is where I am currently at.

What are your thoughts?? Is there anyway to test for a failing ECU?

Thanks in advance!!

Justin
Old 06-15-2014, 11:51 PM

2002 c240
Sounds somewhat similar to what I experienced a few months ago. I brought it to a local shop and they were pulling their hair out for almost a week before calling a Mercedes hotline. If I understood them correctly, they got on the highway, went 50 mph, put the transmission mode to "3" (bring the stick to the left twice) and drove for 30 seconds. Apparently that fixed the problem and I've had no problems since.

Of course, you should probably wait until Glyn comes in here
Old 06-16-2014, 12:41 AM

2006 C230
Update: Unplugged MAF; no change.