C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Production & Assembly question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-10-2010, 05:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
CLS 550 / C300 S
Production & Assembly question

I just wanted to know if mercedes benz vehicles were still made in germany and then shipped, or are mbz vehicles being produced and assembled in north america?

on a side note, I'm WAY out-dated and I have no knowledge of vehicles so please dont flame up. I did do some research and looked at my VIN number, and it looks like it was produced in germany. Is there any other way to check/confirm its production/assembly?

I have an '08 c300.

Thanks and Good Day.
Old 08-10-2010, 06:08 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE
MB vehicles are produced in different countries around the world for various markets, including Germany, South Africa, China, and North America. In particular, M, R, and GL Class vehicles are produced in North America in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. MB has announced that the next generation C Class will begin assembly in North America in 2014. Quality is a function of engineering and assembly standards and practices created by a manufacturer. Although there have been myths and "conventional wisdom" that assembly in some countries automatically means better quality....data and experience have proven this is not the case. For example, the plant in South Africa recently demonstrated higher quality scores than Germany for C Class assembly, although with C Class winning the 2010 JDPower Initial Quality prize for its segment, they are all quite well built.
Old 08-10-2010, 08:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 C300 6 Speed M/T