C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI
Old 06-05-2015, 12:07 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Specifications and General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

new owner of '08 c300 4matic, complete car newb, general questions plz help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2010, 03:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c300 4matic
new owner of '08 c300 4matic, complete car newb, general questions plz help

hey guys,

1st post here. Recently purchased an '08 c300 4matic (us vehicle, purchased in canada). As mentioned in the title, I am a total car newb (my 1st car) and would be grateful if you guys could impart some knowledge and advice. All I ask is that if you guys could use as plain English as possible since I not very familiar with commonly used car terminology and such.

A few random questions:

1) The car seems to be running fine right now but I am thinking of taking it into my local MB dealership to do a 360 bumper-to-bumper check-up to look for anything that need immediate repair (since I wouldn't be able to recognize any warning signs), check up on all the fluids, oil change, and things that might be repaired later on. Also want to do this checkup in case the previous owner skipped out on the regular scheduled maintenance or neglected some things since he/she was selling the car.

I haven't contacted the dealership yet regarding pricing for this service but my guess is that it will be somewhat pricey. Is this something you would recommend for someone who is a total car newb? Is it worth the money? I don't mind spending the money (even if I am overpaying a bit) if its worth it and for a peace of mind but at the same time I obviously don't want to be "taken advantage of" at the dealership and get all kinds of "unnecessary" work/service done.