C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Transmission Fluid Flush

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 08:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'08 Mercedes C300
Transmission Fluid Flush

Hey everyone,

So my Mercedes is approaching 39,000 miles and I have read many threads stating that it's highly recommended to perform a transmission fluid flush because many people have had early transmission failures in the 722.9 transmission.

I've looked through a few DIYs in performing this flush and some say that the transmission is completely sealed in, we need a $3,000 machine to flush it, we can perform the service by dropping the pan and changing the filter, and some Mercedes don't have a filler cap.

I'm new to Mercedes and the different models, but I have serviced a few other cars (none as picky as a Mercedes) and I am trying to get a specific answer. Some threads (by john) mention that we can perform the transmission flush just as the W203, but there isn't a filler cap in the W204 (not sure about this) and some require the STAR system to do it. Someone else mentioned that we could use pump the transmission fluid using a pump they purchased on amazon.

My question is that can we perform a transmission fluid flush in the W204 ourselves without the use of expensive equipment? Because if we can't, i'm just going to take the Mercedes to the dealership for this service since it apparently only needs to be done once. Sorry if this has been discussed before and I didn't see it. I just need clarification because I'm confused by the different threads because none of them are under the W204 section and I'm unsure if it's the same process.
Old 03-16-2012, 10:38 PM

'08 Mercedes C300
Nevermind -_-' I get it now after looking through the DIY again. Sorry for the stupid question lol
Old 03-17-2012, 01:31 PM

2013 ML350
I did my first trans flush at 50K. I took it to the dealership cost me $300. Didn't want to deal with it.