C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Dumb question...Downshift_upshift..etc...C55

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-10-2007, 02:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Dumb question...Downshift_upshift..etc...C55

So this is a really dumb question,
Its related on how to downshift and upshift. When driving and I need torque/power I can down shift? If so how many gears? Can i screw up my car if I do it to often?

If I want to burn rubber while already running, how do I do that? Do I down shift 2 gears and step on gas? can a C55 do that?

I know I am probably going to get blasted...All I can say is that i am just learning....
Old 10-10-2007, 03:07 PM

C32 AMG
Originally Posted by rhernand07
So this is a really dumb question,
Its related on how to downshift and upshift. When driving and I need torque/power I can down shift? If so how many gears? Can i screw up my car if I do it to often?

If I want to burn rubber while already running, how do I do that? Do I down shift 2 gears and step on gas? can a C55 do that?

I know I am probably going to get blasted...All I can say is that i am just learning....
You will not do any harm to your car by downshifting. Car will match gear to your speed and revs, it is "foolproof".It works both ways, Computer to protect engine and transmission won't let you go past red line. I've done it many times w/ my C32 ( same tranny I think -don't quote me on this one). BTW I don't think you will burn rubber doing so, even w/ ESP OFF it will still cut power to the wheels.
I didn't try this in dyno mode yet.
But it will give you nice kick in the rear.

Regards

Jack
Old 10-10-2007, 03:43 PM

2006 C55 AMG, 2.8L Quattro, Softail Nostalgia 1550 (Stage III), Sporster (slammed)