C32 Power steering leak

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-04-2009, 08:06 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2005 Pontiac GTO 6.0 LS2 - Blue
Angry C32 Power steering leak

Power steering fluid is leaking out directly at the pump. I can see drops of fluid falling right next to the PS pulley. With the engine running there is a loud whine, and the power steering fluid is foaming up. After shutting down the fluid escapes through the reservoir cap. So far I have no experience with DIY on power steering, and have some questions. I did change the coolant pump on my 02' Sportcoupe when it failed. There was a valve that opens up, and leaks coolant when the pump goes bad. Do the power steering pumps have this same design? I'm really hoping it's the gasket, and not the pump.

Of course my friendly local Mercedes-benz dealership was of no use as always. I asked the parts guy if the gasket is available. He says, "No you can only buy the entire pump for $650 dollars". I ask who manufacturers the pump. "They don't give us that information". What great service... Tomorrow we are going to take off the pump, and check the gasket. I will just cut out a gasket from universal gasket sheet if that turns out to be the problem. Maybe Autohausaz for a new pump if that's the case. Know any cheaper websites to buy one at?

I'm sure all the power steering fluid will need to be flushed first, and replaced after the job is done. The process for flush might be on the Star service DVD, but I haven't checked it yet. Anyone have DIY instructions to do it properly? Do you think it's the gasket, or the pump?
Old 11-05-2009, 02:06 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

I hate to bump, but will be working on this early tomorrow morning, so I'm hoping to get any helpful information. I'm sure not too many people have experienced this problem, and if they did probably just bought a new pump. Anyone out there that has DIY this project?
Old 11-05-2009, 04:46 AM
MBworld Guru

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts