C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

C32 First Mod - C55 Y-pipe Air Intake - With GTECH results

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C32
C32 First Mod - C55 Y-pipe Air Intake - With GTECH results

Hi All, First post but have found this forum a great resource so it is my turn to contribute.

I am an Engineer that has owned for last 10 years Subaru STI's. This has included a Japanese import Version 4 and MY06. I have always modded these rides to extract the most out of them. This has included self tuning of OEM ECU's and racing.

Being 45 (ish), my wife wanted me to ditch the boy ricer image and go for something more conservative.....hence the C32 was purchase a few months ago with 32k km on clock.

I know what forced induction vehicles like and so I will be doing the following mods in the order shown;
1. C55 Y-pipe Air intake - (completed)
2. Air induction cooling system - (undecided which way to go)
3. Exhaust - Sec cats or Resonator or both (undecided)
4. Main or Supercharger pulley with ECU re-tune
5. TCU re program

The above mods will be done over the course of the year and I will post results as per this thread when they are completed.

SO...onto the first mod;

C55 Y-Pipe purchased for AUD$165 and installed. I also cleaned the air OEM air filters while I had air boxes open.

First reaction is that part throttle response is much better. I am no longer doing the ECU reset procedure. After comparing results on Gtech, I am getting upto 10 hp more at low end so this explains the better response. 0-60 times down a little from 5.111s to 5.001s. This was with ambient temperature about 10 deg C higher, so I am stoked with result.

Notes on Gtech results attached.
1.Main run (black) is best time achieved as stock vehicle.
2. Other two runs are typical runs with new Y-pipe
3. All runs on same stretch of road, using 30cm roll-out (don't want too much stress on car components).