C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

Synthetic Tranny Fluid

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 12-16-2006, 09:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
98 C43, 86 Porsche 951, 98 Volvo S70 T5M
Synthetic Tranny Fluid

I've read quite a few tranny threads, but not much discuss anybody using other than the stock MB tranny fluid. Since I'm new to these cars and want to get my tranny flushed soon I was wondering if it is ok to use Motul or something like that instead of the MB stuff?

Since this will be a once every 40K job springing the extra $$ on Motul would be ok by me. I just don't want to mess anything up.
Old 12-16-2006, 09:38 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
C43/55,2k11 Volvo S60 T6AWD,2k Audi B5 S4,95 Eagle Talon Tsi AWD 500+awhp
Originally Posted by DarthCY
I've read quite a few tranny threads, but not much discuss anybody using other than the stock MB tranny fluid. Since I'm new to these cars and want to get my tranny flushed soon I was wondering if it is ok to use Motul or something like that instead of the MB stuff?

Since this will be a once every 40K job springing the extra $$ on Motul would be ok by me. I just don't want to mess anything up.
I use Amsoil and have used it several times in my C43 tranny with great success.
Old 12-16-2006, 10:07 PM

Thanks for the info. Is there any specific fluid I should be looking for or just regular ATF? I know some cars are very peculiar about what type of fluid you put in there.

I'm looking at putting this in there as Motul comes very highly reccomended and what I have going into my S70 when I get around to doing it. Though the S70 is getting different fluid than this one.

http://www.motorspot.com/dir.cfm?sec...end=10&itemid=

Though the Amsoil ATF looks pretty good as well. Just want to keep the car (especially the tranny) in good operating shape. I'll pay good money on preventative maintenance.
Old 12-17-2006, 06:49 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!