C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2014, 10:10 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2009 C63
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate

Newbie moment here guys. I tried to search for others with the same issue but to no avail. Let me know if I'm just overlooking a FAQ somewhere.

I picked up my 2009 C63 with a carbon fiber trunk already installed (pretty sure it's from Stone Carbon). However, the previous owner didn't like the fitment gap, so he removed the springs. I went to reinstall the springs and I have a feeling I didn't do it quite correctly. I've never worked on trunk springs before so I didn't even know where to start except to Google a lot and try to identify the anchor points.

Here's where I installed the spring on the trunk:
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate-trunkanchor.jpg

There's a black plastic insert on this hole, which came loose (as you can see in the picture), and that makes me think this is not the right anchor point on the trunk lid, as installing the spring hook essentially forces the plastic insert out.

Here's the adjustment hole I used on the body anchor:
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate-bodyanchor.jpg

And here's how the trunk sits closed:
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate-gap1.jpg
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate-gap2.jpg
Carbon Fiber Trunk - Fitment Issues, Spring Rate-gap3.jpg

It doesn't leak in the rain, and the gap isn't a deal-killer for me, but if I installed something incorrectly and I can lessen the gap, that'd be great. Also, the trunk absolutely flies open and bounces at the top, which I would expect going to a CF trunk with stock settings, but if I've correctly put the springs as loose as possible, am I out of options?