C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

After 6 months of ownership & use as a daily driver . . .

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-26-2017, 09:13 PM

Received 83 Likes on 49 Posts
2012 Mercedes C63 AMG S
After 6 months of ownership & use as a daily driver . . .

I bought my 2012 C63 on April 1st, and so am now at almost exactly 6 months use. The car is now 5-1/2 years old since it was first licensed by my predecessor, its first owner.

After 6 months of ownership of this used car, and 6 months of use as a daily driver, I have seen the odometer reading move from 43,439 km to exactly 50,000 km, or a total of 6561 km (i.e. from 26,932 miles to 31,000 miles).

In that 6 months and 6561 km, the only anomalous behaviour occurred 2 days ago, when the dash suddenly announced that the lane departure system was "unavailable". And while it allowed me to acknowledge and dismiss the message, It would also not allow me to re-engage it via the steering wheel controls, and I noted that the little icon for the lane departure system had disappeared from the dash display.

However, by the next morning, the car had apparently decided that such behaviour was boorish for a Merc, so the icon reappeared when I started the car up, there was no repetition of that unfriendly dash message, and the steering wheel once again rumbled when I change lanes without signaling.

This, I almost shamefully admit, is the high point of unhappy excitement as far as things going wrong with my C63 in the full 6 months.

The car always starts.

My transmission shifts boringly consistently.

The wipers continue to come on automatically whenever it starts to rain.

The headlights continue to do their elaborate dance on every engine startup.

All the frightfully complicated electronics continue to work, apparently perfectly.

The car's interior remains silent (except for the wind noise when I have the roof rack installed to haul the canoe).