Feed in or flatten gas peddle?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-13-2018, 02:45 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
45k miles 2010 C63 AMG w204 / VW MK5 Gti
Feed in or flatten gas peddle?

Hey,

potentially stupid question, but I won’t let that stop me - I bought a C63 about a week ago now, so I’m still learning how to get the most out of it. Assuming for now we ignore the M mode, if I’m in S and want to accelerate as fast as the car will allow, is it a case of plant the pedal and the car takes care of the rest? I only ask as I’ve had cars before which went faster feeding the pedal in. But they were neither autos or high capacity.

cheers in advance!
james
Old 10-13-2018, 03:36 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 992 Likes on 764 Posts
2003 CL 600
Full throttle is always going to be maximum torque request, so the powertrain will give max accel possible. You may see traction issues at low speeds as the cars are quite powerful, but there's not really any situation where you rolling into the throttle gradually will be faster than stepping down to full kickdown position unless you are at such a low speed the tires start spinning. The traction control is pretty good but quite invasive, and if you can drive on the cusp of wheelspin you will be faster than letting the ESP manage it for you.
Old 10-13-2018, 04:26 PM

Thanks for such a detailed reply, it’s always good to know what the cars thinking so I can work with it. The esp seems to be great for tighter back roads where you really don’t want to be kicking out even a foot or two, but on wider roads coming away from roundabouts it did seem to kick in a little too often for my liking. Early days though! Generally I’m really impressed
Old 10-18-2018, 06:08 PM

Received 40 Likes on 29 Posts
C63
Originally Posted by James_
Hey,