CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Trunk/Top problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-23-2017, 03:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 CLK 430 Cabriolet
Trunk/Top problem

Hi, I'm new to MBWorld. I have a 2002 CLK 430 Cabriolet. The trunk doesn't work when the top is up (either from transmitter or console), but it works when the top is down. When the top is up, I don't get a beep signaling the completion of the cycle and the light on the trunk switch won't light. When the top is completely down and I get the beep, the trunk light operates and the trunk can be opened from either transmitter or console. Any help would be appreciated before I take to local dealer. Thanks.
Mike
Old 05-23-2017, 05:01 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 190 Likes on 170 Posts
2001 CLK320 Cabrio
The soft-top operation control module (N52) cyclically supplies the information "SOFT TOP CLOSED", "SOFT TOP UNLOCKED" or "SOFT TOP OPEN" to the CAN databus.

As soon as the message "SOFT TOP UNLOCKED" is received, the pneumatic system equipment (PSE), combi-functions (A37) no longer performs any remote trunk release operations.

A chime from the overhead control panel control module (N70) a at the end of each soft-top opening or closing operation, a signal is sounded for 1 s from the overhead control panel control module (N70), which confirms the correct implementation.

BTW, this interlock is by design, to prevent an open soft top case cover from colliding with an open truck lid.

During driving mode and with an incorrectly locked soft top, a warning signal sounds for 10 s.

Note: For further output of the warning signal, the system must first be reset (e.g. turn ignition "ON" and "OFF" again).

It appears that when you close the roof and lock the roof, with the locking handle, the Soft top "locked" (left) limit switch (S84/11) is not telling the controller that the roof has not been closed and locked (see enclosed thumbnail).