CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Roll bar/rear head rest problem !!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-26-2017, 07:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CLK convertible Avante Garde
Question Roll bar/rear head rest problem !!!

Hi all newbie here
my rollbar/ rear headrests were stuck in the up position.this seems to be a common fault !!! We took the back seats out and done as suggested and managed to get them back down.we then manually put the soft top over and it is locked in place at the front.
the problem I have now is the rear cover that the soft top folds into will now not close properly and the soft top won't sit in the clip and lock 🤔
Until this is solved I cannot use the soft top and it is not water tight.I love my car.she is an old girl (17 years ) a bit like her owner 😂 ( I am older than 17 !!) Any help will be most appreciated...
Old 05-26-2017, 08:42 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 190 Likes on 170 Posts
2001 CLK320 Cabrio
If I'm following what you're saying correctly, your soft top compartment cover is not properly closed and locked and this is preventing/obstructing your rear bow clip from entering the compartment cover and being locked.

If so, the compartment cover lock may have become inadvertently locked while you were working on the roll bar issue.

In that case, you can manually open and/or close the lock, as detailed in the 'practical hints section' of your owner's manual.

After your roof is fully closed, your power roof may or may not operate normally (don't forget to turn back the pressure relief screw before attempting).

If not, you may need to resynch the system, by doing the entire procedure (e.g. by fully manually opening and then closing the roof).
The following users liked this post:
kez27 (05-26-2017)
Old 05-26-2017, 10:51 AM

Thanks Serndipity for your input.The roof is now all locked down and secure