CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Suspension--frustrated (long, sorry))

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-31-2004, 10:38 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 51 Likes on 41 Posts
E 63S Wagon Renntech, E55 Renntech, SL65, SL 55 030, ML, bunch of old ones--they come, they go...
Suspension--frustrated (long, sorry))

03 430 Cab. 4th V8 cab, and I've been doing this for many years, so not a newbie. I'm so frustrated with this one I could scream. H&R, Koni adjustables, 18 " Brabus Mono V's with SO3 PP. I just cannot seem to get the thing right. It has SO much motion that it's just tiring to drive. My guess is that the SO '3's are about gone (12k), and this is adding to the equation. I guess I'm going to slap on a set of Pilot 2's, and I think that will help the tracking. SO's are all over the place when they're worn, right? Lots of hunting and nervousness in going down the road. Also, the car has way too much going on on the vertical axis. I can't tell for sure--I think maybe I've got too much spring? I can't tell if I'm oversprung and underdamped, or overdamped and under sprung. I'm not a Koni fan, but bought them at everyone's suggestion here. Sure wish I has bought the Bilsteins instead. But they're on the car and I guess they'll stay....but wondering, do any of you guys know about the spring rates on the H&R's? I've used them in the past with good results, even on 208's. But this setup just ain't happening. Who is using another brand of spring--Brabus, Renntech, Eibach, what--on a Cab? The ride quality is just awful. I don't expect it to ride like my 740 or an S class, but as a reference, my previous M3's and even Carerras were light years more pleasant to drive than this. One other thought, this is the second Cab I've used this spring set on. They have a total of about 10k miles--think they're shot already? The guys at H&R have been unable to provide any insight past a shoulder shrug. Someone got some input/help?