CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

trunk won't stay closed, 2005 clk 320 cabriolet

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-20-2012, 07:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 clk 320 & 1983 300d; vw 1997 jetta glx
trunk won't stay closed, 2005 clk 320 cabriolet

hi,

can anyone offer suggestions or solutions to this problem: the trunk will not stay closed!

i am no auto expert but have some general knowledge of cars; mechanics usually don't have to dumb down explanations for me. i am always curious and eager to learn if it doesn't get wildly technical. even then, it's useful to be exposed to it anyway. this is my first post, hope i did it right.

the trunk not latching closed: checked the latch for obstructions; tried all kinds of permutations of pushing the unlock buttons on the key and in the car (other lock stuff seems to be working fine); don't see any obvious damage to any wires and things visible in the trunk.

the "trunk-open" light in the car stays on, so the car knows the trunk is open.

looking at the latch with the trunk open, tried moving the latch thing around (sorry, don't know the names of the parts....). i am able to manually push a piece of what looks like what would click around to secure the latch closed; so this thing moves and it pops back open when i open the trunk from in the car or with the key button. no matter which position it's in, doesn't affect it latching closed and staying so. yes, i understand when that piece is in a particular position, it is in the locked position so if you try to close the trunk like that, no cigar, and you'll probably also damage something. i did not try slamming it hard like that!

no matter what i do something is not latching to to keep the trunk closed.