CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

looking to purchse star diagnostic do I buy c4,c5 or c6?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-02-2020, 05:18 PM

Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
2004 CLK 500
looking to purchse star diagnostic do I buy c4,c5 or c6?

I saw a few different Star diagnostic for sale online . Should I bother buying C4 or C5? Or should I just got for the C6 version ? Thanks for any help.
Old 02-03-2020, 12:18 PM

Received 59 Likes on 44 Posts
GL320
I have 12/2019 C6 and 9/2009 C3. The C3 is faster and does offline programming. The C6 is wireless and has greater capabilities but all programming has to be done online via Xentry.
Old 02-03-2020, 01:52 PM

2004 CLK 500
I am sorry I am new to this program . What do you mean with online ? The systems available are all Chinese would online feature be turned off ? or do I need to update ?
Old 02-03-2020, 02:58 PM

GL320
When referring to "online", it means that in order use certain programming functions, you must be signed in to mercedes factory Xentry online service just like the dealer. Basically you're logging in to their servers to update, program, and code your vehicle. It is not very feasable or economical for the normal DIY'er to purchase this from Mercedes as they frown on cloned star tools and even if they allowed you, its very expensive ($3k/year).

However, there are plently of providers online that have legitmate logins/passwords to access Xentry online and charge for a single use, day rate, month rate, and year for a more reasonable price. It requires some sort of team viewer where you get everything ready to code, they log in remotely, then you code everything yourself and then end the session. If you are planning on doing this, then you need to have a DAS/Xentry version that is less than a year old. MB servers block software older than that from logging in online.