CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

CLK55 Mods- Input Please, Need Help!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-02-2007, 11:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E60 M5, Trailblazer SS, Acura TL, CLK55 (SOLD), E420 (SOLD)
CLK55 Mods- Please Leave Feedback, Need Help!

Hi All,

If anyone has experience with modding their W209 CLK55, kindly please read on and offer any advice that you see fit. All suggestions and input is apppreciated.

I've been modding my cars since 1993 and have suddenly come to a stalemate with my W209 CLK55. I believe that I'm entering uncharted, potentially dangerous territory. I just had my transmission replaced under warranty and I am a bit apprehensive about wringing out my car. However, given that no one is interested in buying the beast, I will no longer be able to get that Z06 that I've been eye-balling. Therefore, I will be keeping this thing forever and ever and ever. That being said, I've started my course for modification redemption. Please let me know what your thoughts are regarding the below mods (i.e., are they necessary?, what order would you do them in?, are there better options or manufacturers?, what are your experiences?, etc.) Thank you ALL in advance for your feedback.

-RennTECH transmission reinforcement kit: $2200 Can't find detailed info. without calling them... What does this entail? Anyone have experience with this?

-Kleemann LSD upgrade: $$??? How much is this? Anyone have experience with this?

-Stainless Steel brake lines and Motul RBF600 fluid. $130+ fluid. Are the ones on TireRack any good?

-Repair all dings and dents (paintless): Anyone know a reasonably-priced paintless dent guy in NY/NJ?

-Custom dual-exit exhaust: $1500. I believe that Mufflex can do this.

-19" lightweight BBS wheels and tires (~1 lb per wheel/tire savings): $5000:
Anyone have another suggestion?

-RennTECH Supercharger kit (500 HP+/500 lb-ft Torque): $16,000 OR
-HPS Supercharger kit (475 HP+): $8500 OR