Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Need some guidance for caring for new car

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-27-2009, 01:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
N/A
Need some guidance for caring for new car

My father just got a new black car and I want some guidance as to how to care for it. I have no knowledge as to how to wash/polish/wax the car the "correct" way so I'll be taking it to a detailing shop (if that's what I need to do).

My question is, since the car is brand new, do I need to get it polished and waxed or just waxed? I read around and it seems polishing is for when the paint is scratched or has a lot of swirl marks. Is this correct? If the car is scratched or has a lot of swirl marks, you'd want to polish it and then wax it to protect the polish. Correct?

Secondly, what is a paint sealant?

So, to sum it all up, I want to protect the paint as much as possible. We live in Dubai, UAE where it's very hot during certain times of the year with a lot of sun. What do I need to get done on the car? Polished? Waxed? Paint sealant?

Thanks
Old 09-27-2009, 12:24 PM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

NA
Originally Posted by Kain
My father just got a new black car and I want some guidance as to how to care for it. I have no knowledge as to how to wash/polish/wax the car the "correct" way so I'll be taking it to a detailing shop (if that's what I need to do).

My question is, since the car is brand new, do I need to get it polished and waxed or just waxed? I read around and it seems polishing is for when the paint is scratched or has a lot of swirl marks. Is this correct? If the car is scratched or has a lot of swirl marks, you'd want to polish it and then wax it to protect the polish. Correct?

Secondly, what is a paint sealant?