E-Class Coupe (C207) & Cabrio (A207) 2010-: E250CDI Coupe, E350 Coupe, E350CDI Coupe, E500 Coupe, E550 Coupe [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Is "A" Service Necessary?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-19-2022, 11:14 AM

Received 124 Likes on 100 Posts
2018 E400 Coupe
Is "A" Service Necessary?

I need some expert advice. Because of Covid, and because I can do all of my work from home, I've been driving my 2018 E400 Coupe very little since March of 2020. The car had the "B" service performed on October 12, 2020, and it's been driven only 1,630 miles since then (the odometer shows only 13,042 miles as of 9/19/22). Nonetheless the dash is displaying the "A Service in X Days" message.

Is the A service really necessary at this point, or can I skip it, and if so for how long?

My cost per mile driven is already through the roof due to insurance and so forth, and I'd kinda like to keep it under $5/mile! 😱
Old 09-19-2022, 06:29 PM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
2015 Audi S4, 1982 Fiat Spyder, 2010 R350, 2013 E550 Cabriolet
First, you really need to drive more.

It really depends on whether you drive 2 miles per day or a 100 mile drive once per month. Lots of short trips are harder on the car. Keeping track of cost per mile is going to be wildly distorted because you drive so few miles. A service A should be from $250 to $500 depending on who does it and local prices. I don't think spending that over 2 years is excessive. It would probably not cause any huge problem to wait another 6 mo., but it is not really just an oil change. A good mechanic will look over other areas and lube some parts that could dry out.
Old 09-19-2022, 08:36 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3,956 Likes on 2,637 Posts
2019 C63CS