E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Total newbie, just bought 1995 E329 cabriolet and have lots of Questions...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-04-2007, 12:07 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 E320 cabriolet
Total newbie, just bought 1995 E329 cabriolet and have lots of Questions...

Hey guys,
I am a regular over on Rennlist and the Bimmer Boards as I have a 1996 993TT and a 2002 M5, so I know the boards are always the place to meet new friends and learn about my new (to me) car from people who know their stuff. I guess I couldn't live without a Benz either, so now I have one!! I'll try to post pics soon.

The car is smoke silver and has 157,000 on the clock. It is in pretty good cosmetic condition, and it should look new when I am done with it.

So far I have changed the oil and filter, put on a new serpentine belt, replaced the O2 sensor, fixed the third brake light harness short and replaced a bad cooling fan up front. After $1,100 in repair bills the car is running really well except that the engine is still running hot. I replaced one radiator fan so they both work now, but it still gets between the 100 line and about 110, which I assume is far too hot even in August in the south. What other culprits might me at work here? Fan clutch? Thermostat? Something else?

Also, I appear to have an oil leak they haven't found yet, but it drips about 15 drops a night which ain't good. It looks to be coming out of the front area of the engine, somewhere around either the alternator or the a/c compressor? Any clues which seal might be leaking and the cost to fix?

Last but not least, I have a plethora of little knick knacks to get as far as trim pieces. Where would be the best place to find these items:
1) New center console glove box
2) Plastic cover that covers hole in center of convertible top cover when it's down.
3) Center caps for wheels
4) Possibly new seats
5) Possibly new wheels