E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

1988 260E 94K miles with Oil in the exhaust

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 03:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1988 260E
1988 260E 94K miles with Oil in the exhaust

I'm a newbie, this is my 1st MB. I bought it in NY and drove it to Houston Over the weekend. Made the trip fine, but I had to put a quart of oil in every 600 miles. When I got home I had it running and was checking it over when I noticed a light spray of oil coming out the exhaust.

When at an idle oil pressure indicator holds between 1 and 2, when driving it stays pinned on 3. Thare is no smoke, no knocking, and no external evidence of a leak on the engine that I could see. I'm assuming there is a leak at the exhaust manifold, but how do I verrify/repair?
Old 01-22-2008, 03:19 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
95 e320...sold the rest
At idle, mine too is right below the 2...my check engine light has came on as well...any ideas for either of us?
Old 01-22-2008, 09:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

1995 E320 SE, 162,000 Miles (Sold)
Welcome to the forum!

Oil pressure reading anything above 0 at idle is normal. It will be higher in cold weather than in hot weather due to the oil being thicker and slower to squeeze out of the main bearings. It should always be at 3 when above 2000 rpm or so. What you describe with the oil gauge is a sign of healthy bearings.

Are you sure that it's not a spray of water vapor from the exhaust, which would be normal? If oil were in the exhaust pipe, there would be smoke so thick after driving for 5 minutes that you would get fined for gross pollution, if the officer could even find your car through the smoke screen. I would be willing to bet it's not oil vapor. The normal condensation mixes with carbon and makes a black sooty looking vapor from the exhaust.