E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Fault codes for SRS airbag

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-11-2004, 12:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes 300TD
Fault codes for SRS airbag

Hi I'm new to Mercs and trying to dignose an SRS airbag problem. Car's a UK Spec 1993 300TD.

The symptom is that, at switch on, the SRS light comes on for about 4-5 seconds, then goes out,which is correct behaviour, but then comes on again permanently after about 25 seconds.

I've learned about the l.e.d. blink method of determining the fault codes. I have an 8-pin diagnostic connector on the driver-side firewall near to the fuse-box. Pin 6 seems to be the SRS light. Connecting the l.e.d. to this pin, feeding it with +12V via a resistor and shorting pin 6 to chassis for around 2 seconds makes the l.e.d. blink twice.

I reckon this means I have a fault code of 2.

My question is, what does this mean? Does anyone out there have the list of fault codes and what hardware faults they relate to?

I'd be grateful for help on this. Like someone else on the forum said, paying £80 per hour + VAT for the dealer to say " hmm could be tricky, we'd need the car for a couple of days.." is giving a blank cheque & not something I want to do!!

Any other tips on SRS system would be welcome, and how to clear the codes.

I'd be happy to give details of the blinker if anyone is interested (it's pretty simple!)

Thanks in advance for any help

Peter
Old 02-11-2004, 04:06 PM
Almost a Member!

1995 E200-124
Fault Codes

I’m probably the ‘someone else’ you are referring to!

From a list of codes for a U.S. spec. E320-124, sent to me by a helpful reader, unless the codes only relate to U.S. specs., the code number you describe refers to the oxygen sensor.

Incidentally, I’ve just had a full analogue diagnostic authorised by Daimler/Chrysler UK, to be performed next week by my local MB dealer.
Old 02-12-2004, 04:47 AM
Almost a Member!

1995 E200-124