E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Test driving a '98 E430 tomorrow. Need info about chronic problems.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-05-2004, 10:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Test driving a '98 E430 tomorrow. Need info about chronic problems.

Hello all! Newbie here. I've been scouring this terrific forum for the past week in anticipation of purchasing a '98 E430 w/61K miles.

I test drove it once, and everything seemed to be in terrific shape until a malfunctioning MAF sensor reared its ugly head. It has since been replaced by the current owner (a friend of mine). In the intervening time, I found this site and have been reading voraciously so I can make an informed decision.

As with any car, there seem to be a few regularly-occuring problems with this car. I've read about the harmonic balancer, front control arm bushings, front seat rails,and fuel tank sendiing unit. Are there any other problems I should keep an eye out for?

More importantly, can anyone give me an idea of anticipated expenses for each of the aforementioned repairs? I'm trying to get an idea of what "built-in" expenses I can expect to incur in the next couple of years.

BTW, the car is very, very clean. No dings, no dents. Interior in terrific shape. The owner is a neat-freak, and it has been driven fairly gently by his wife. The asking price is $22K and I think I can get it for $20k to $21K, including winter tires with less than 3K miles, and summer tires with less than 6K miles. It has a moonroof, CD changer, memory seats & mirrors, but no xenons or heated seats.

Thanks in advance for any info you can provide. I look forward to learning a lot here in the years to come.
Old 01-06-2004, 11:03 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
GLE53 Coupe
Jazz

Jazz,

Sorry I cannot comment on this , since my is a 2000 E430.