Replacing Central Gateway

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 12:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E220 CDI 2004
Replacing Central Gateway

Hello,
My car was having problems with instrument cluster and diagnostics. The dealer told me that Central gateway needs to be changed. Being an engineer myself, i thought of some DIY and removed the Central gateway myself ( under the steering wheel). The Central gateway was burnt upon inspection of circuit.
I searched on Ebay for Central gateway unit against my part number (A 211 445 25 00) and found 29 used units for sale. Can i simply purchase one of those and plug it in?
The dealer advised me to buy a New one so that it can be programmed again for my car because according to him, the Central gateway will have configuration of previous car and will give problems later. How much of this is true? Can the gateway be simply reprogrammed on star?

Looking forward for some advice here!

Thanks!
Old 08-27-2013, 12:31 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4,417 Likes on 3,146 Posts
'71 Pinto
I recommend new also, using SDS need to transfer data from original CG to new and read out fault memory.
The following users liked this post:
2MERKS (03-07-2023)
Old 08-27-2013, 12:38 PM

E220 CDI 2004
Originally Posted by konigstiger
I recommend new also, using SDS need to transfer data from original CG to new and read out fault memory.
Thanks for the reply. What are the possible problems if i buy a used one and get it reprogrammed?
The problem is that not a single guy is selling a new one on Ebay and i heard the price difference is 4-5 times between new and used.
Old 08-27-2013, 03:44 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
14 S8, 07 E63 Designo, on order 14 G63
CG needs to be scn coded by dealers. Good luck finding an INDY who can even program that thing. Last time I checked I couldn't find one who had that capability in US.

Sorry for the unfortunate issue, there are some things that only dealer can perform on these cars.