E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

E550 Airmatic Sports Setting

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-06-2011, 05:45 PM
WGB

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
W212 E500, W164 320CDI, W116 450SEL 6.9, W116 450 SEL.
E550 Airmatic Sports Setting

I have been driving around for six months and have been using the comfort/sport button to tighten up the suspension when required when I finally read the manual and tried out the other comfort/sport button which changes all the transmission settings as well.

I was surprised to find that apart from starting off with a wallop in first gear at the lights and keeping the engine revs higher at each speed it appears to tighten up the Airmatic dampers and the ride firms but not to the same degree of firmness as the sports damper setting alone.

There was some discussion on this board involving ngsterman who were looking for a wider range of suspension settings as is available in other Airmatic models.

I cannot convince myself that putting both buttons in sport makes it any harder than the sports damper setting on it's own but it would appear that the are at least three suspension settings available.

After 7 months with my E500 (E550) I am still in awe of the ride quality and sports handling option of the Airmatic Suspension as well as the engine/transmission combination and while a twin turbo 4.7 with a 9 speed transmission might arrive in the future I think I've got it pretty good so far with zero problems.
Old 05-06-2011, 08:08 PM

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
2016 Audi S8 Plus/ 2011 Mercedes e550 4Matic//Gone:1985 500SEL/2000 e320 4Matic/ 2001 e55 Kleeman
Originally Posted by WGB
I have been driving around for six months and have been using the comfort/sport button to tighten up the suspension when required when I finally read the manual and tried out the other comfort/sport button which changes all the transmission settings as well.