E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

This may be my 1st and last MB

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-22-2014, 03:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 E350 Sedan, 2010 Prius II
This may be my 1st and last MB

Bought a 2010 E350 sport/prem 1 with 45k miles 4 months ago. Had the car checked out w/a mechanic and he gave it the green light. I've driven it 900 miles.

During that 4 month period, I've had to -

1. Get a transmission service due to a new leak
2. Replace the command control knob. I could slide it up and down but it was stripped when rotating. It worked when I bought it.
3. There is an intermittent grinding noise in the console where the sunroof and light controls are. Dealer said it is a fan in there to keep the enclosure cool. It's very annoying.
4. The driver side heated seat turns off after 5 seconds. It too was working when I bought the car.

I have no experience with MB beyond 4 months but I figure that a car that originally listed for 60k with only 45k miles on it, should not be having this many failures or these kinds of problems. I really love this car but don't want to spend more time and money on future problems. I'm 95% going to put it up for sale in the next few weeks depending on the cost to fix the heated seat.

My 2010 Prius with 90,000 miles has never given me one problem. Not one and all I've done is change the oil and tires. The first scheduled maintenance is just coming due now.
Old 12-22-2014, 04:38 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,621 Likes on 1,190 Posts
2014 E550-sold 😩
These cars are pretty bulletproof, but some people swear by extended warranties due to the cost of some repairs. Beyond the control knob known issue, I am unaware of anyone experiencing those other problems.

Unfortunately, the more a car costs, the higher the maintenance costs associated with it. It just goes with the territory. I have enjoyed the simplicity of Honda,Toyota, Acura, etc myself, but have had great and reliable Mercedes cars as well.