duplicate key home?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-17-2019, 07:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E class 250 CDI 2010 (W212)
duplicate key home?

Hello guys!
I just inherited a Mercedes E class 250 CDI from 2010 as my first car. Unfortunately i know nothing about cars and have only had a drivings license for a year. The car has some stuff that needs to be fixed inculding getting a extra key(Only have one). I have checked with some local dealerships and the cheapest i could find is for 2200 SEK (230$).

Because i am a student and like to solve problems i have now for some hours tried to figure out if there is a cheaper alternative like buying a replica key online and program it myself.
For example:
https://m.banggood.com/433MHz-Car-3-Buttons-Remote-Key-Entry-Transmitter-BGA-chip-For-Mercedes-Benz-2000-p-1225696.html?rmmds=detail-bottom-alsolike#popupStatedetail

What i have understood during this search i have understood that in many cars it is "pretty easy" to duplicate a key if you already have one. Compared to if you have none!

For example i found out that you can put a mustang in "programming mode" which seem to be pretty easy to do and duplicate your key.
https://youtu.be/uide_Qxjel8 (8 minutes in)

I wondered if that is anything that does exist in Mercedes E class w212 or if i need to buy programming tools as well? Like this one
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/F5q7S3OY

Would be very happy to receive any tips on what i can do! Thanks!

Old 12-17-2019, 08:34 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,620 Likes on 1,189 Posts
2014 E550-sold 😩
I can make a duplicate key right inside my Mustang as long as I have 2 keys available by putting a blank in a special coding slot. Unfortunately you are stuck with getting a second key through your dealer. That price you quoted is actually more than fair from my experience.
Old 12-17-2019, 08:41 PM

Received 181 Likes on 112 Posts
2016 E350 Sport; Mom Wrecked the 2008 E350; sold the 2002 C320