E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

W212 transmission shift

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-01-2021, 07:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W212
W212 transmission shift

I have a W212 which I have been using since the past 3 years and have been very happy about the performance. It's a 2012 model. Lately it has been having a problem where the Transmission does not shift normally while using the AC. With the AC turned off, the transmission shifts flawlessly and smooth at 1500RPM from the 1st gear upwards and feels just about right as I have always been using it. But lately with the AC turned On, it feels like the car has to force itself to change from the 1st to the 2nd and 2nd to the 3rd gear and so on till the RPM reaches around 2200. On a normal traffic day, it gets very annoying as the car is mostly stuck up at the 2nd gear most of the time and I really have to speed up quite a bit to force itself to change the gear up. On turning off the AC, the problem immediately goes away and the transmission is smooth and flawless. Have even tried doing a transmission reset by turning the key to position 2 and pressing the gas pedal all the way down for like 30 secs and then the rest of the procedure but to no avail. Any suggestions would be very helpful.
Old 07-01-2021, 08:40 AM

Received 194 Likes on 112 Posts
2011 Mercedes E350 4Matic Wagon
Have you tried resetting your adaptive transmission on your vehicle?

oops my mistake...seems you've exhausted that route. The only thing left would be to hook up to the OBD and diagnose the transmission module.

Last edited by Raj1471; 07-01-2021 at 08:42 AM.
Old 07-01-2021, 08:45 AM

W212
Originally Posted by Raj1471
Have you tried resetting your adaptive transmission on your vehicle?

https://youtu.be/HyLP-CsGv8I