E-Class (W213) 2016 - 2023

Massive oil loss @3000miles

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2018, 06:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2018 E300
Massive oil loss @3000miles

Hi Newbie here, love my W213 until today, about a month old. Driving to work (5hr drive) -15F here in Wisconsin, and all of a sudden massive smoke and steam coming out the back of the car. No warnings or engine codes. Had to press on and pulled into gas station, car took 6 quarts of oil, smell of oil everywhere, especially noted dripping out of exhaust pipes. Long story short, could not continue and eventually engine light (amber) came on, pulled into nearest gas station and called MB connect, car towed 3.5hrs to dealer, stranded....etc etc.....not too say at least quite unhappy!

Call from Enterprise Mercedes Benz (Appleton, WI) told it was a frozen crankcase breather valve that "forced oil to escape through any seal it could" and oil in exhaust ruined 02 sensor. Will fix and clean, will be good as new?

anyone had experience with this? My concern is oil being forced though engine into exhaust (around pistons, gaskets etc?) cannot be good for a brand new car, should i accept this fix?

thanks

btw photo attached is smoke coming from rear of car seen through rearview mirror. And yes the lane keeping assist is on......I love it!!!!

Last edited by hubby63; 01-02-2018 at 06:47 PM.
Old 01-02-2018, 06:41 PM

Received 49 Likes on 33 Posts
2018 E300
Oh boy...I'm sorry that happened to you. How did they not test these valves in the cold?

Yeah I would be concerned with the pistons, valves, turbo, seals, etc. I would at the very least demand a free extended warranty because of this. So you're covered 80K miles down the road.
Old 01-02-2018, 09:55 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 992 Likes on 764 Posts
2003 CL 600
It won't hurt metal parts to have oil on them, they normally have oil on them.