Importing a GL or Ml from the US

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 03:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S600
Importing a GL or Ml from the US

Hello
i am new to to the forum and i would like to ask a few questions before i go ahead and buy my SUV for the USA on Ebay,to be imported to the Czech Republic , hoping that i will find someone to answer my questions .
Since both Ml and Gl models are US made, and they come with only miles markers not KM , is that a problem in the EU ? Or would i need to change the cluster to KM ?
I am thinking about adding a LPG tank to my SUV, is that a problem ? or would either of the two models run on a ethanol if i chose to less for the gasoline model ?
Are all the Benz SUV'S US made? or do they make them in Germany too ?

too many questions but i hope someone will find the time to answer

thanks
Old 07-05-2010, 05:36 PM

2010 GL 350 Bluetec
I seem to remember signing something that would limit my ability to export the vehicle, (either the ML or GL). Before you get too far along in the transaction you might want to double check whether or not the vehicle can be legally exported by an individual and not Mercedes Benz.
Old 07-05-2010, 09:43 PM

gl 350
My dealer made me sign an agreement not to import the GL for 12 months, but he said he could not enforce it if I were to import it.

As the MPH and KM, the speedometer can display both.

My GL 350 was made in the USA.

I can't answer the rest of the questions.
Old 07-05-2010, 10:29 PM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
2018 E63S
Originally Posted by crazygordon
My dealer made me sign an agreement not to import the GL for 12 months, but he said he could not enforce it if I were to import it.

As the MPH and KM, the speedometer can display both.

My GL 350 was made in the USA.

I can't answer the rest of the questions.
Does the speedo display both? I thought it only displayed MPH and you could get a KMH digital readout only? Correct me if I'm wrong.
Old 07-06-2010, 09:24 AM