GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Wiring Harness Varied Resistance

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 08:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 GL 450
Wiring Harness Varied Resistance

Hi everyone, I've been trying to wrestle a few issues to the ground recently and I'm coming back to a common theme.

I'm concerned my engine wiring harness is going bad. I'm new to the GL450 so I've not had much experience with this.

I have a code P0410 that keeps creeping back. Recently my car stalled three times while at moderate speed (40-55 mph). During those stalls, the car threw several codes at me including: P0393, P0340, P0102, P0607, P0101, P0343, P0348, P0368

These codes suggest that all of the camshaft sensors are having trouble and at the same time the MAF sensor is bad if I'm not mistaken.

All of these systems (MAF, Camshaft Sensors, and the Secondary Air Pump) feed through that same wiring harness.

To test my theory I pulled the power cable on the secondary air pump and tested the ground side. There was resistance between the pump ground connector and the ground on the car. I then moved the wiring harness during this measurement to witness the resistance change dramatically.

Has anyone else had these issues or something similar? I've had the car to the dealer who failed to diagnose the stall issue and incorrectly diagnosed the secondary air problem. Since they didn't say that the ECU is bad I'm hoping that it isn't the whole computer.

I would appreciate any thoughts you might have!
Old 04-19-2017, 09:34 PM

Received 45 Likes on 42 Posts
gl450 530i
Originally Posted by OldRockyTop
Hi everyone, I've been trying to wrestle a few issues to the ground recently and I'm coming back to a common theme.

I'm concerned my engine wiring harness is going bad. I'm new to the GL450 so I've not had much experience with this.