Loose steering anyone?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-29-2009, 12:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLK
Loose steering anyone?

Hello,

I have a quick question about the steering on the GLK. I seem to feel that the steering has gotten looser over time. Specifically, the looseness is when the steering wheel is around the center. When driving on the highway, the steering around the center is loose and when I turn side to side slightly, the reaction of the steering and slight direction change of the car is rather slow.

When on the left most lane of the highway, I have to hold the steering wheel slightly to the right. When on the right most lane, I have to hold the steering slightly to the left.

I feel it is a degrading alignment. But again, I may be hyper sensitive.

What are your experiences regarding steering on the highway?

Let me know.

Regards.
Old 05-29-2009, 08:17 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
GLK350 4MATIC
I'm no expert but roads are sloped to the left and right to allow water to drain from the road. Depending on the slope you might notice a slight waiver to the left or right depending which side of the road you're on. I certainly can't go far "no hands" without some slight correction.

So far, no looseness to the steering though after 2600 miles.
Old 05-29-2009, 09:20 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 112 Likes on 93 Posts
GLK 350 / Porsche 993
Also keep in mind that steering acts different at different speed as GLK has speed sensitive steering. The faster you go the slower the reaction to steering input is. The point above about slopping road can also be valid.
Old 05-29-2009, 05:04 PM

GLK
Definitely, I agree with both of you. I have to get away from being so microscopic and sensitive. I'll update again over time.

Thanks, again!
Old 06-22-2009, 09:59 PM

lots
Alignments do not degrade. If not due to road crown, then you may have a defective ball joint in the front suspension. Have you dealer check it out next time the vehicle is in for service.