GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

Just got a new glk, have a few questions!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-01-2009, 03:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes GLK350
Just got a new glk, have a few questions!

1) Just got a nice glk in black, love it... but i'm not too excited about the orange reflectors on the headlights, sort of makes it look cheap. Was wondering if there was a way to take them out or replace them? I don't do much customizing with lights so i'm pretty new to it.

2) I was thinking of buying the running boards from the dealerfit mercedes website... but would my mercedes dealer install them if I didn't purchase it from them? I wouldn't feel too safe having another auto place install them. Do you guys think the glk looks better with or without the running boards? I can't decide!! ha ha

3) One more thing... The aluminum roof rails, is it safe to add those on too and replace the black ones? Has anyone had it done through mercedes? and what was the cost w/ installation? I'm in the US by the way.

Any advice, or suggestions would be helpful! thank you!!

Last edited by blackglk350; 09-01-2009 at 03:26 PM.
Old 09-01-2009, 04:30 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 113 Likes on 94 Posts
GLK 350 / Porsche 993
Congrats on new ride and welcome.

1) It's actually not easy. I know on other cars (i'm sure GLK is the same way), you basically have to heat up the headlight unit in an oven to melt the sealant to take it aprt and remove the reflector, and then put it back together. I would not do it unless you really know what you doing and know it can be done (not sure if the replector can be removed at all). If not done properly you can have mositure trapped inside.

2) Have you tried getting in out of GLK with running boards? Try it before deciding to install them. To me the look is good either way.

3) Haven't heard of anybody having it done. Since your GLK is black might as well leave the black roofrails.
Old 09-01-2009, 04:37 PM

Mercedes GLK350