GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

Picked up GLK a few hours ago...should I get the wheel/tire coverage?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 11:17 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
GLK 350
Picked up GLK a few hours ago...should I get the wheel/tire coverage?

I have until the close of business tomorrow to decide on the 5-yr wheel & tire plan for $1,079. Lady in MB finance department told me these tires and rims get damaged very easily and more frequently than "regular tires/rims" and are very expensive to replace. Has any of you GLK owners experienced an increase in tire/rim damage with the GLK's? I've never done any damage before to previous car tires/rims and find this a bit suspicious. Is this something you think I should seriously consider? Don't want to make the wrong decision, but also don't want to throw almost $1100 away for nothing (or an extremely remote chance). Please let me know what you think! Thanks!
Old 02-23-2010, 12:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 Barolo Red-Almond/Black GLK 350, 2008 Cadillac Gold Mist LUX III DTS
I think a lot of it depends on where you normally park.
There is no question that curbs can do a number on the wheels. However, I haven't parked next to a curb in years.
All my parking is in my garage or in a parking lot.......even my friends don't live where there are curbs.........
So, obviously I passed on the insurance.
Old 02-23-2010, 12:35 AM

GLK 350
Originally Posted by RedRover
There is no question that curbs can do a number on the wheels. However, I haven't parked next to a curb in years.
All my parking is in my garage or in a parking lot.......even my friends don't live where there are curbs.........
Thanks....I am torn as to what to do. I will sleep on it tonight!
Old 02-23-2010, 09:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2002 S430, 2004 Cobra, 2004 Tahoe