M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Brake Job

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-06-2004, 03:17 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1999 ML320
Brake Job

I'm new to this thread but I like what I've seen and read so far...

Is there a manual that I can buy to show how to replace the brakes on my 1999 ML320? I've done brake jobs on my VW's but none have ABS. Do I need special tools? Any recommendations on discs/pads brand and upgrades is most appreciated.
Dealer wants to charge like $350+ and I need to save some money now.

Thanks!
Old 04-06-2004, 12:32 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ml320
Thumbs up

I recently did both teh front and rear pads with no particular difficulty. For the front you will need a large allen key or hex socket (estimate either 6 or 8mm). Otherwise if you have done pads on other vehicles - these did not seem at all difficult.

I used EBC on the front and ANOther severe duty brand which I both ordered from tirerack. After 2 months there is still no brake dust - . Braking does require a little extra pressure but nothing significant.

Hope this helps.
Old 04-06-2004, 12:50 PM

1998 ML-320
There is a DIY pub

here that Pete wrote, but its for a 430. Hopefully it will help.
Old 04-06-2004, 01:55 PM

There no special tools required for the brake job. What you would need is a T40 Torx wrench for the front and 1/2 in. socket for the rear. A large C-clamp would help if you don't have brake caliper tools.
Hope this helps.
Old 04-06-2004, 03:10 PM
Almost a Member!

brembos are good

i purchased some brembos from these guys http://www.brakeworld.com./ and was very happy w/ the quality
Old 04-06-2004, 03:35 PM

I just did the front brakes on my 2000 ML320. It is not difficult, but it helps to have some experience with doing disc brakes before.